RachelFinalSmallBanner

Retail Fraud

In Michigan, retail fraud can be brought as a misdemeanor or felony charge. Retail fraud, most commonly referred to as “shoplifting,” typically occurs when a person is accused of stealing property from a store.

Retail Fraud Third Degree
Under MCL 750.356d, third degree retail fraud is a misdemeanor with the possibility of a sentence of up to 93 days in jail, and fines of up to $500.00, or three times the value of the stolen merchandise. Third degree retail fraud is charged when a person is accused of stealing less than $200.00 worth of store merchandise.

Retail Fraud Second Degree
Under MCL 750.356d, second degree retail fraud is charged when a person is accused of stealing more than $200.00 but less than $1,000.00 of merchandise, or commits a third degree retail fraud with a prior retail fraud conviction. A conviction for second degree retail fraud can result in jail time, and fines up to $2,000.00, or three times the value of the stolen merchandise.

Retail Fraud First Degree
Under MCL 750.356c, first degree retail fraud is charged when a person is accused of stealing more than $1,000.00 worth of merchandise, or commits a retail fraud second degree while having a prior retail fraud. A conviction for first degree retail fraud can result in up to five years imprisonment, fines up to $10,000.00, or three times the value of the stolen merchandise.

 

Learn more about Michigan Felonies, Felony Court Procedures, Common Misdemeanors and Misdemeanor Court Procedures, or call us today at (248) 733-5530 to schedule an appointment.